Little Rat

Little rats on the track, get back!

You’ll give a mom one heart attack

You’ll berate the gods, you’ll give them flack!

and guess what, guys? Alack!

 

I’m sorry.

I digress.

Like the freighted calls of the Baroness

hum-di-lilla, hum-di-die

Make mince meat of this party pie! 

 

Posies sprinkled over lanes

to guild the scent of ghoulish blight

brought by scampering furrowing bees

pecking at Venice like cheddar cheese.

 

But there, I feel, I see it true!

The train now comes to flatten you!

With cheeks so full and a tail too tight

You’ll squint your eyes and fade to night!

 

At night I peel off socks

I sprinkle pine nuts over noodles

Small thing, I forget.

Leave a Reply

